Of Pain

This day three years ago, I held your hand for the last time.

It was bittersweet. I did not know how to feel. Was I sad? Hurt? Mad? Why? All I know was pain. So much of it. I was angry because there were things left unsaid. I was at loss for words. I did not have the courage to comfort the soul longing for answers.

I knew it was time. We knew. You needed to go. But why did it hurt like a thousand knives piercing into my heart?

I am sorry I could not do more for you. I know you were disappointed that I did not try harder. I am sorry. I regret not being there beside you when you needed me most. It is too late now and although most have forgotten, I have not.

Three years ago, you left us. And I missed you every day since.

Leave a Reply

