To Kill A Mockingbird

The title may sound like a book report, but I assure you it is not. I read that Harper Lee’s second book will be released soon and I got all excited so I thought it was timely to write a short piece about her first book. I have no news as to when it will be released, but as of reading, it is already a best-seller in Amazon, so good luck to me finding a copy.

A few years ago, a friend gave me a book for my birthday. It is not uncommon to get books as gifts, but it felt more special that time because I had been meaning to get that particular book for myself. My bookish friends have mentioned countless times that I should read To Kill A Mockingbird. Somehow, I was the only one among my friends who hasn’t read that book. I first heard about this book back in high school when my English teacher in sophomore year asked us to define what a classic is. No one spoke a word.

I was ecstatic when I received To Kill A Mockingbird. I was immediately drawn to Scout’s character because of her naivety and wittiness. As I turned the pages, I envisioned Scout and Jem, what their house looked like, the street, Atticus and his hat. I imagined them running across the street, playing, bothering people like the little mischief that they are. I kept reading but didn’t really think much about the book until Boo Radley’s character was introduced. To me, this was the first turning point in the book. It turned the mood from a homey, feel-good setting to something more mysterious and dark yet exciting. From this point, the characters grew so boldly, yet delicately. The underlying themes became more evident, and the story just spiraled into a smorgasbord of emotions. What I liked most about To Kill A Mockingbird is how the characters were carefully crafted. Harper Lee powerfully mixed in all types of people in the plot without overwhelming the reader; from Atticus Finch, who is well-mannered, educated, just man trying to teach his children how to be good people, to the Ewells who are on the opposite end of the spectrum. The story in itself is very powerful. If you are familiar with the book, you know what it is all about. I think that it is very challenging to bring issues of race, rape, justice, equality  and innocence all together, and simplifying them as narrated by a child. It is beautifully written, and the evolution of the language went perfectly well with the characters. The innocent, child-like humorous tone of the book adds ease when reading the story. Although it tackles profound subjects, it does not drown you. Instead, Scout narrates the events in a very subtle, funny way. 

 When I found out that a second book is on its way, I was very happy. I am excited to see how Scout’s character has grown and how things have changed in the new book. 

Leave a Reply

