2015 Challenge

A friend of mine inspired me to do a “365 Days Challenge”. It is basically my New Year’s Resolution challenge, but I prefer to call it 2015 Aspirations. Technically, these two words “resolutions” and “aspirations” are very much alike. However, they have slightest difference that if you look from a completely different angle, they may conclude into two completely different ideas. I always thought new year’s resolutions are things we want to change, but you see, we don’t always want to change things. There are some things we like to remain the same, and some things we want to make better.
My 2014 wasn’t a bad year at all, and if I can re-live that year, I wouldn’t like it any other way. A lot of things happened, good and bad. I liked it the way it is. This year, however, I want better things to happen, and I realize that taking the initiative is the key. I don’t always believe in luck. I feel that hardwork always triumphs over luck. Yes, taking things in your own hands and getting something done will take you wherever you aspire to be.
What are my 2015 Aspirations? I classified them into two: short-term and long-term aspirations, although I feel that the short-term aspirations will eventually lead to longer-term goals.
First of all, I hope to get my driver’s license. I know it’s silly, I am 26 and I don’t have a driver’s license. You ask why? I came from a place where you would rather just walk than drive. Simply put, congested streets, atmospheric gas prices, high traffic accident rates. Since I moved to the suburb, driving became a necessity, thus, the need to be able to drive legally.
Secondly, I would like to continue learning a foreign language. I have dabbled into several foreign languages but French is my favorite. I took basic French language courses a few years ago, but due to my laziness, I have forgotten most of what I have learned. I hope to kickstart that (yet again) this year. My last short-term aspiration is food. How is that an aspiration if all I ever do is eat? I want to know how to feed my body well, i.e. eating healthy and yummy. I learned that truly appreciating food has a very complex nature, and although one does not need to know everything about food, it is important to understand the basics of good food.
As I mentioned earlier, all my short-term aspirations lead to my long-term goals. My interest in language and food are deeply rooted in me. I have always wanted of teaching language, and it is also my dream to visit And explore France. As for food, who does not like food? For me, it is not only the desire to taste the best foods in the world, it is more the need to feed my body well. I grew up around people who love to eat. When that is the kind of environment you have, is it very easy to pick up. It is not always good though. I think that being smart in choosing what to feed your body is not something I was taught as a kid. It is my personal desire to change the mentality that I grew up seeing, that you can eat anything you want. My family has a history of heart disease, stroke, diabetes etc, various diseases caused by unhealthy food choices. Ultimately, the goal is to be a wiser and healthier version of myself. There are a million little things we can do to make ourselves better, and it is really is the conscious effort that we put every single day that jumpstarts whatever aspirations we have.
It is the small choices and changes that we take that bring results.
What are your goals in 2015?

Leave a Reply

